Reza Abbaschian

Reza Abbaschian Ph.D.

William R. Johnson, Jr. Family Professor
Distinguished Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Director, Winston Chung Global Energy Center
Former Dean, Bourns College of Engineering

Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, 1971

Research Areas

Materials Properties & Processing

Contact Information

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Reza Abbaschian served as Dean of the Bourns College of Engineering from 2005 to 2016. Prior to his appointment at UCR, Dr. Abbaschian was the Vladimir A. Grodsky Professor of Materials Science and Engineering Department at the University of Florida, where he also served as Chair of the Department for 16 years. During his tenure, the Department rose to a U.S. News & World Report top-ten ranking for both undergraduate and graduate education.

Dr. Abbaschian received his Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley, M.S. in metallurgical engineering from Michigan Technological University, and BSc in mining and metallurgy from Tehran University. He has published more than 250 scientific articles on subjects ranging from metal processing to composites, solidification and high temperature-high pressure growth of jewelry diamonds, which led to the formation of Gemesis Diamond Company. He holds five patents and eight patent disclosures and has authored eight books, including the recently published fourth edition of Physical Metallurgy Principles.

Dr. Abbaschian is a past President of ASM International, the largest materials society. His awards include the TMS Educator Award, Structural Material Division's Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award, TMS Leadership Award, ASEE Donald E. Marlowe Award, Davis Productivity Award of the State of Florida, and the Albert Sauveur Achievement Award which he received on October 2013 in Montreal, Canada. The award recognized him as "outstanding scientist and researcher in solidification fundamentals and materials processing, educator and leader in advancing the materials profession." He has been elected a Fellow of ASM, TMS and AAAS.